Ettlingen

Our catchment area - Ettlingen

Ettlingen is a city south of Karlsruhe in Baden-Württemberg. It is the second largest city in the Karlsruhe district after Bruchsal and a medium-sized centre for the surrounding communities.

Since the territorial reform in Baden-Württemberg in the early 1970s, the urban area consists of the core city and the districts of Bruchhausen, Ettlingenweier, Oberweier, Schluttenbach, Schöllbronn and Spessart.

For the history of the city of Ettlingen here excerpts from the municipal page:

In the first and second century A.D. settlement by the Romans, numerous finds such as god stones, tools, vessels and coins prove this.

788: The first written record of Ettlingen, at that time "Ediningom", is found in a deed of gift from the Weißenburg monastery in Alsace. This year is considered to be the year of Ettlingen's first mention, even though the settlement as such had already existed for a longer time.

The affiliation to the monastery of Weißenburg is shown in the seal, which shows a key. This is the symbol for St. Peter and Paul. Above this is the diagonal bar of Baden. This representation is in the town hall, 1st floor, in the transition from the town hall to the tower.

965: The village called "Ediningom" is granted market rights by Emperor Otto the Great and thus establishes the central function of the village.

1192: Presumably in this year, the market town of Ettlingen is elevated to the status of a town by Emperor Heinrich VI, a son of Barbarossa, and thus receives the right to fortify itself. In several expansion phases, the city wall that is still visible today is built around today's core city.

The southern part of the old town between the Alb and the AVG road will be fortified with a double ditch system, the northern part between the Alb and Pforzheimer Straße will have a single fortification but towers like the Lauerturm at the corners for additional protection.

In order to maintain the functionality of ditches and walls, a not small item had to be budgeted in the city budget. When the French made their breakthrough in 1689, the decline of the city walls as an effective protection against enemies began. In the 18th century the ditches were drained and used for pasture. Today they are the wide thoroughfares.

1219: The Baden Margrave Hermann V becomes Ettlingen's feudal lord, while in place of the Weissenburg Abbey, the Baden house monastery of Lichtental takes over the patronage of St. Martin's Church from 1245. The Weissenburg signum - the Peterschlüssel (Peter's key) - disappears from Ettlingen's coat of arms and makes way for the white tower on a blue background alongside the Baden colours of yellow and red.

1462: In addition to the existing saw, oil and grinding mills, Margrave Jakob I of Baden built the first paper mill in Baden. With it, an industry was founded that consolidated Ettlingen's reputation as a paper manufacturing town.

1689: During the Palatinate War of Succession, the town was almost completely burned down by troops of the French King Louis XIV. All documents and church books were burnt.

The following thirty years were devoted to the reconstruction of public and private buildings. A stained glass window on the 1st floor of the town hall records this decisive moment: Margravine Augusta Sibylla receives from the hands of master builder Ludwig Michael Rohrer the building plan for St. Martin's Church, as it was to be built after the destruction as a baroque hall church and still exists today.

Around this scene are grouped other important buildings of the city such as the town hall, the castle and private buildings, some of which were created according to an identical construction plan.

1727:Margravine Sibylla Augusta chooses Ettlingen as her widow's seat. Court architect Johann Michael Rohrer is commissioned with the reconstruction of Ettlingen Castle. Rohrer gives the south wing baroque features, enlists the fresco painter Lucca Antonio Colomba and the stucco artist Donato Riccardo Retti for the interior design and finally adds a castle chapel to the previous castle complex at Margravine Sibylla's request. The chapel was consecrated to John Nepomuk, a Bohemian cleric and martyr, who had just been raised to the honour of the saints and to whom the margravine felt a close bond, not least for reasons of her own country (she had grown up in Schlackenwerth near Karlsbad). For this reason she commissioned the best fresco painter of her time, the Bavarian artist Cosmas Damian Asam, to decorate the Ettlingen Palace Chapel with wall frescoes and a dome painting based on the life, suffering and death of her favourite saint. Asam completed this extremely large-scale work within ten weeks in the summer of 1732.

The picture shows a view into the baroque rooms in the south wing of the castle along the AVG road.

1737/1738: In the same year in which the baroque reconstruction of the nave turns St. Martin's Church, which dates back to Frankish times, into a stone showcase of all occidental architectural forms, the citizens of Ettlingen are able to complete the construction of their new town hall. With its beautifully structured façade of red sandstone - designed by Johann Peter Ernst Rohrer, the brother of Sibylla Augusta's court architect - the defiant tower and its likewise Baroque-designed spire, it forms the architectural counterpoint to St. Martin's Church and, together with it, is one of the town's architectural landmarks.

1771: The Catholic dynasty of the Baden-Baden Margraves dies out, Ettlingen becomes part of the Protestant Margraviate of Baden-Durlach.

1796: "Battle of Malsch" or "Bataille d'Ettlingen" - as it is called on the Arc de Triomphe in Paris - in which Archduke Charles of Austria and the French General Moreau fight a battle at the gates of Ettlingen.

1805/1809: Napoleon briefly takes up quarters in Ettlingen Castle during his military campaigns.

1836: The spinning and weaving mill is founded and soon becomes the third largest employer in Baden. With it, skilled workers from predominantly Protestant countries - Württemberg, Switzerland and Alsace - come to Ettlingen and ensure a confessional mixing of the population and the foundation of a Protestant parish.

1848/1849: Ettlingen provides an important leader in the Baden Revolution, Philipp Thiebauth, who goes into exile for several years after the failure of the uprising. Via Switzerland he reaches Liverpool in England and returns after the amnesty as elected mayor of Ettlingen.

1870/1871: After the Franco-Prussian War, Ettlingen's upward trend continues steadily. Philipp Thiebauth, who returned home and was elected mayor of the town at least three times in a row from 1870 onwards, played a significant role in this development. His era includes the construction of a water supply system and a school building, the expansion of the non-commissioned officers' school in the castle, and the creation of the prerequisites for the construction of the Albtalbahn railway, which is put into operation about ten years after his death in 1897.

1894: The Lorenz machine factory moves to the railway line, laying the foundation stone for Ettlingen-West.

1927: On the occasion of a falsely celebrated town anniversary, today's B3 is opened as a bypass road.

The practice of Tierarzt-Malsch.de is located 10,3km over the B3 from Ettlingen in Einsteinstr. 6, 76316 Malsch.

Ettlingen
Scroll to Top

Ettlingen

Unser Einzugsgebiet – Ettlingen

Ettlingen ist eine Stadt südlich von Karlsruhe in Baden-Württemberg. Sie ist nach Bruchsal die zweitgrößte Stadt des Landkreises Karlsruhe und ein Mittelzentrum für die umliegenden Gemeinden.

Seit der Gebietsreform in Baden-Württemberg Anfang der 1970er Jahre besteht das Stadtgebiet aus der Kernstadt und den Stadtteilen Bruchhausen, Ettlingenweier, Oberweier, Schluttenbach, Schöllbronn und Spessart.

Zur Geschichte der Stadt Ettlingen hier Auszüge von der Gemeindeseite:

Im ersten und zweiten Jahrhundert n. Chr. Besiedelung durch die Römer, zahlreiche Funde wie Göttersteine, Werkzeuge, Gefäße und Münzen belegen dies.

788: Das erste geschriebene Zeugnis von Ettlingen, damals “Ediningom”, findet sich in einer Schenkungsurkunde des Klosters Weißenburg im Elsass. Das Jahr gilt als das Jahr der Erstnennung Ettlingens, auch wenn die Siedlung als solche schon länger bestand.

Die Zugehörigkeit zum Kloster Weißenburg zeigt sich im Siegel, das einen Schlüssel zeigt. Dies ist das Symbol für St. Peter und Paul. Darüber liegt der Schrägrechtsbalken von Baden. Diese Darstellung befindet sich im Rathaus, 1. OG, im Übergang vom Rathaus zum Turm.

965: Das “Ediningom” genannte Dorf erhält von Kaiser Otto dem Großen das Marktrecht und begründet damit die zentralörtliche Funktion des Ortes.

1192: Vermutlich in diesem Jahr wird der Markt Ettlingen durch Kaiser Heinrich VI, einem Sohn Barbarossas, zur Stadt erhoben und erhält damit das Recht, sich zu befestigen. In mehreren Ausbauphasen entsteht die heute noch sichtbare Stadtmauer um die heutige Kernstadt.

Die südliche Altstadt zwischen Alb und AVG-Trasse wird dabei durch ein Doppelgrabensystem zweifach befestigt, die nördliche Altstadt zwischen Alb und Pforzheimer Straße erhält eine einfache Befestigung aber dafür an den Ecken Türme wie den Lauerturm zum zusätzlichen Schutz.

Um die Funktionstüchtigkeit von Gräben und Mauern zu erhalten, war im städtischen Haushalt ein nicht geringer Posten zu veranschlagen. Als den Franzosen 1689 der Durchbruch gelang, begann der Niedergang der Stadtmauer als wirksamer Schutz gegen Feinde. Im 18. Jahrhundert wurden die Gräben trocken gelegt und als Weide benutzt. Heute sind es die breiten Durchgangsstraßen.

1219: Der badische Markgraf Hermann V wird Ettlingens Lehensherr, während anstelle der Weißenburger Abtei das badische Hauskloster Lichtental ab 1245 das Patronat für die Martinskirche übernimmt. Aus dem Ettlinger Stadtwappen verschwindet das Weißenburger Signum – der Peterschlüssel – und macht neben den badischen Farben gelb-rot dem weißen Turm auf blauem Grund Platz.

1462: Zu den bereits vorhandenen Säge-, Öl- und Schleifmühlen errichtete Markgraf Jakob I. von Baden die erste Papiermühle in Baden. Mit ihr wurde ein Wirtschaftszweig gegründet, der Ettlingens Ruf als Papierherstellerstadt festigte.

1689: Im Pfälzischen Erbfolgekrieg wurde die Stadt von Truppen des französischen Königs Ludwig XIV. fast völlig niedergebrannt. Alle Urkunden und Kirchenbücher verbrannten.

In den folgenden dreißig Jahren widmete man sich dem Wiederaufbau der öffentlichen und privaten Gebäude. In einem Glasfenster im 1. OG des Rathauses ist dieser einschneidende Moment festgehalten: Markgräfin Augusta Sibylla erhält aus den Händen von Baumeister Ludwig Michael Rohrer den Bauplan für die Martinskirche, wie sie nach der Zerstörung als barocke Hallenkirche entstehen soll und noch heute so besteht.

Um diese Szene gruppieren sich noch andere bedeutende Gebäude der Stadt wie das Rathaus, das Schloss und private Gebäude, die zum Teil nach einem identischen Bauplan geschaffen wurden.

1727:Markgräfin Sibylla Augusta wählt Ettlingen zu ihrem Witwensitz. Hofbaumeister Johann Michael Rohrer wird mit dem Wiederaufbau des Ettlinger Schlosses beauftragt. Rohrer gibt dem Südflügel barocke Züge, zieht zur Innengestaltung den Freskenmaler Lucca Antonio Colomba und den Stukkateur Donato Riccardo Retti heran und erweitert schließlich den bisherigen Schlosskomplex auf Markgräfin Sibyllas Wunsch um eine Schlosskapelle. Geweiht wird die Kapelle dem soeben zur Ehre der Heiligen erhobenen Johannes Nepomuk, einem böhmischen Kleriker und Märtyrer, dem sich die Markgräfin nicht zuletzt aus landsmannschaftlichen Gründen (sie war in Schlackenwerth bei Karlsbad aufgewachsen) verbunden fühlt. Deshalb auch verpflichtet sie den besten Freskenmaler ihrer Zeit, den bayerischen Künstler Cosmas Damian Asam, damit er die Ettlinger Schlosskapelle mit Wandfresken und einem Kuppelgemälde nach dem Leben, Leiden und Sterben ihres Lieblingsheiligen schmücke. Asam bewältigt diese überaus großflächige Arbeit innerhalb von zehn Wochen im Sommer des Jahres 1732.

Das Bild zeigt einen Blick in die Barockräume im Südflügel des Schlosses entlang der AVG-Trasse.

1737/1738: Im gleichen Jahr, in dem durch den barocken Wiederaufbau des Kirchenschiffs die auf fränkische Zeit zurückgehende Martinskirche zu einem steinernen Schaubild aller abendländischen Bauformen wird, können die Ettlinger Bürger den Bau ihres neuen Rathauses beenden. Mit der schön gegliederten Fassade aus rotem Sandstein – entworfen von Johann Peter Ernst Rohrer, dem Bruder von Sibylla Augustas Hofbaumeister – dem trutzigen Turm und dessen ebenfalls barock gestalteter Turmhaube bildet es den architektonischen Kontrapunkt zur Martinskirche und gehört mit ihr zu den baulichen Wahrzeichen der Stadt.

1771: Das katholische Geschlecht der Baden-Badener Markgrafen stirbt aus, Ettlingen kommt zur evangelischen Markgrafschaft Baden-Durlach.

1796: “Schlacht von Malsch” bzw. “Bataille d’Ettlingen” – so die Bezeichnung auf dem Arc de Triomphe in Paris – bei der sich Erzherzog Karl von Österreich und der Franzosengeneral Moreau vor den Toren Ettlingens eine Schlacht liefern.

1805/1809: Napoleon nimmt während seiner Feldzüge kurz Quartier im Ettlinger Schloss.

1836: Die Spinnerei und Weberei wird gegründet und bald zum drittgrößten Arbeitgeber in Baden. Mit ihr kommen Facharbeiter aus überwiegend protestantischen Ländern – Württemberg, Schweiz und dem Elsass – nach Ettlingen und sorgen für eine konfessionelle Vermischung der Bevölkerung und Gründung einer evangelischen Pfarrei.

1848/1849: Ettlingen stellt in der badischen Revolution einen bedeutenden Führer, Philipp Thiebauth, der nach dem Scheitern des Aufstandes für mehrere Jahre ins Exil geht. Über die Schweiz gelangt er nach Liverpool in England und kehrt nach der Amnestie als gewählter Bürgermeister von Ettlingen zurück.

1870/1871: Nach dem deutsch-französischen Krieg setzt sich Ettlingens Aufwärtsentwicklung stetig fort. Maßgeblichen Anteil daran hat der zurückgekehrte Philipp Thiebauth, der ab 1870 mindestens dreimal hintereinander zum Bürgermeister der Stadt gewählt wird. In seine Ära fallen der Bau einer Wasserleitung und eines Schulhauses, der Ausbau der Unteroffiziersschule im Schloss sowie die Schaffung der Voraussetzung für den Bau der Albtalbahn, die ca. zehn Jahre nach seinem Tod 1897 in Betrieb genommen wird.

1894: Die Maschinenfabrik Lorenz zieht an die Bahnlinie und legt damit den Grundstein für Ettlingen-West.

1927: Anlässlich eines fälschlicherweise gefeierten Stadtjubiläums wird die heutige B3 als Umgehungsstraße eröffnet.

Die Praxis von Tierarzt-Malsch.de liegt 10,3km über die B3 von Ettlingen entfernt in der Einsteinstr. 6, 76316 Malsch.

Ettlingen
Scroll to Top